Family Tree

Eulipotyphla is an order of mammals that includes moles, hedgehogs and shrews. These species were previously assigned to the order Insectivora, together with other small mammals such as tenrecs and golden moles amongst others. In GB, there are three families: Erinaceidae (hedgehog), Talpidae (mole) and the Soricidae (6 shrews). Two of these shrews, Greater white-toothed and Lesser white-toothed shrews only occur on Channel Islands. All these species are small, ground-dwelling or subterranean mammals, and they mainly feed on invertebrates.

  • Mole Talpa europaea
  • Hedgehog Erinaceus europaeus
  • Water Shrew Neomys fodiens
  • Common Shrew Sorex araneus
  • Pygmy Shrew Sorex minutus

Scroll down to find out more about all the species that you can find in the UK.

Autumn Articles

Read other issues!